Jennifer Vega La Serna

2024-25 Aspen Rising Presidents Fellow
Dr. Jennifer Vega La Serna is the Assistant Superintendent/Vice President of Academic Services at College of the Sequoias where she previously served as Dean of Arts and Letters. Dr. Vega La Serna is a Commissioner for the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges. She recently served as President of the California Community Colleges Chief Instructional Officers (CCCCIO) and on the Board of Directors for the California Community College Athletics Association. She was awarded the Carter Doran Statewide Leadership award in 2022 by the CCCCIO for her vision and unwavering leadership during the global pandemic and for advancing the commitment to diversity, equity and inclusion for the organization.

She has presented at numerous state and national conferences on topics of accreditation, leadership, mentorship, student athlete academic success, college planning, educational equity and first-year student experiences. Dr. Vega La Serna has written and received numerous grants that support student success including Title V, Pathway to Law School, Basic Skills Student Outcomes and Transformations, and TRiO. She has taught English as a Second Language courses at the University of Southern California and in Peru as well as graduate level courses in Multicultural Education and TESOL.

Prior to joining the community colleges, she served as Director of the Ronald E. McNair Post- baccalaureate Achievement Program at California State University, Dominguez Hills and as a Supervisor and Children’s Social Worker for Los Angeles County.

She holds a Doctorate in Education Policy, Planning, and Administration with a specialization in International and Intercultural Education and a Master’s in Teaching English as a Second Language from the University of Southern California, a Master’s in Education Counseling and Guidance from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, and a Bachelor’s in Liberal Studies from the University of California, Santa Barbara. She is a proud alumna of College of the Sequoias.